The Sforza Castle (Castello sforzesco) history starts with the construction of a smaller fortress nearby the medieval Jupiter door of Milan in 14th century, with the Visconti family ruling the city and the vast region around it.
After the destruction of 1447, the Castle was rebuilt in a larger shape by the new duke of Milan, Francesco Sforza, that started the reconstruction in 1450, and called the important renaissance architect Filarete to cooperate at the project. With the Francesco’s sons, Galeazzo and Ludovico, the Castle was finally transformed in a beautiful renaissance court, thanks also to the contributions of important artists and architects, such as Bramante and Leonardo da Vinci.
The inner courtyards of the Castle are freely accessible with bikes and Segways.
To visit the Castle, please check the availability of our www.segwaytourmilan.com services (Segway Group Tour 3 hours, Segway Group Group Tour 1 and half hours, Segway Deluxe Tour), of ourwww.milancitytour.it services : Bike Tour Milan(Bike Group Tour 3 hours, Bike Deluxe Tour), or Wlaking Tour (Walking Group Tour 3 hours, Walking Deluxe Tour).
Opening hours: open daily
7.00 a.m. – 6.00 p.m. (in winter) | 7.00 a.m. – 7.00 p.m. (in summer)
Free admission (except for castle museums)
Official website :www.milanocastello.it/ing/home.html